Skip to content

2023 Review

This page gives summary information about the 2023 Review, with links to more detail where relevant. For a detailed description of the process, please see our Guide to the 2023 Review.

Initial proposals – 8 June 2021

The best place to see interactive maps of our proposals is our consultation website, bcereviews.org.uk. The first public consultation on our initial proposals for constituencies is now closed, but there will be a further opportunity to have your say during our secondary consultation in early 2022.

If you wish to read our proposals report, view pdf maps of proposed constituencies, and download geospatial data files, simply click on the link below for the English region you are interested in:

England-wide data downloads:

PDF background mapping and geospatial data © Crown copyright and database rights 2021 OS 100018289. Use of this data is subject to terms and conditions.

Places of deposit for hard copies of proposals

During the first public consultation for our initial proposals, we deposited a hard copy of our proposals for new constituencies in at least one public place in the relevant proposed constituency. The full listing of places of deposit can be downloaded hereThe consultation is now closed, and the proposals may no longer be available to view at these places of deposit. Please be aware that some public places have limited opening hours, and additional access restrictions may also be in place locally to protect against the spread of COVID-19. Anyone interested in viewing these hard copies is therefore strongly advised to contact the place of deposit directly (not the BCE) to confirm the particular access arrangements in place for that site.

General information about the 2023 Review

Following the passing of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020 in December 2020, and the publication of the relevant Parliamentary electorate data in January 2021, we began a new review of all Parliamentary constituencies in England. We refer to this as the ‘2023 Review’, as we are required to report with our final recommendations by 1 July 2023.

Applying the statutory formula to the electorate figures means the total 650 constituencies is distributed during the review to the four parts of the UK as follows:

  • England = 543 (includes two ‘protected’ constituencies on the Isle of Wight);
  • Scotland = 57 (includes two ‘protected’ constituencies for specified Scottish islands);
  • Wales = 32 (includes one ‘protected’ constituency on the Isle of Anglesey); and
  • Northern Ireland = 18

This Commission has applied the same distribution formula to the English allocation, which results in the following redistribution of constituencies among the nine English regions for the 2023 Review:

  • East Midlands = 47 (increase of one)
  • Eastern = 61 (increase of three)
  • London = 75 (increase of two)
  • North East = 27 (decrease of two)
  • North West = 73 (decrease of two)
  • South East = 91 (increase of seven)
  • South West = 58 (increase of three)
  • West Midlands = 57 (decrease of two)
  • Yorkshire and the Humber = 54 (no change)

Application of further statutory rules to the published electorate also means that all recommended constituencies must have no less than 69,724 Parliamentary electors and no more than 77,062 (except those ‘protected’ constituencies mentioned above). By law, these electorate figures relate to the electorates as they were on 2 March 2020.

What happens now?

Our first statutory consultation on our initial proposals for new Parliamentary constituencies ran from 8 June until 2 August 2021. We are now preparing the thousands of responses for publication early in 2022, when we will hold a further consultation on our initial proposals and those initial responses received. 

Only after the second consultation period will we assess all the responses from both the first and second consultations, and decide what changes may be appropriate to make to our initial proposals.

Are you using the ward-level data published by ONS in January 2021?

Mostly. The ONS publication reflects wards as they were at the time of the data collection, but December 2020 legislation introduced the concept of our work having regard to ‘prospective’ local government boundaries, i.e. wards that have been ‘made’ by legal instrument, but not yet implemented at a subsequent local election. Nearly 10% of local authorities in England (mostly in London) have such ‘prospective’ ward boundaries, specifically:  1) Barnet; 2) Basingstoke and Deane; 3) Brent; 4) Buckinghamshire; 5) Cambridge; 6) Camden; 7) Chorley; 8) Cornwall; 9) Ealing; 10) Enfield; 11) Halton; 12) Hammersmith and Fulham; 13) Haringey; 14) Harrow; 15) Hartlepool; 16) Hillingdon; 17) Hounslow; 18) Isle of Wight; 19) Islington; 20) Lewisham; 21) Merton; 22) North Northamptonshire; 23) Oxford; 24) Pendle; 25) Richmond upon Thames; 26) Rotherham; 27) Salford; 28) Sutton; 29) West Northamptonshire; 30) Westminster; 31) Wiltshire.

We have worked with the Electoral Registration Officers for all these local authorities, to recast the ONS data according to the prospective wards, and you can download the complete ward-level dataset for the review from the 2023 Review section of our Data and Resources page.

What will be your process and policies for the 2023 Review?

Our initial outline timetable is planned as follows:

  • 5 Jan 2021: Publication of headline electorate figures by ONS, BCE begin development of initial proposals;
  • 24 March 2021: Publish complete ward-level electorate figures (i.e. including ‘prospective’ wards);
  • 10 May 2021: Publish ‘Guide to the 2023 Review’;
  • 8 June 2021: Publish initial proposals and conduct eight-week written consultation;
  • Early 2022: Publish responses to initial proposals and conduct six-week ‘secondary consultation’, including between two and five public hearings in each region;
  • Late 2022: Publish revised proposals and conduct four-week written consultation;
  • June 2023: Submit and publish final report and recommendations.

You can read more about the process, law and policies we work to in the review in our Guide to the 2023 Review.

We have created a partner pack, which includes our press release, blog, copy and graphics for your website or social media channels, an FAQ and more to help you publicise the 2023 Boundary Review. Download our partner pack here.

All information about this review will be published via this section of our website, with key updates and notifications also issued via our Twitter account @BCEReviews.

This page reformats automatically when printed. Print this section