Skip to content

Initial proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in the East Midlands region


Who we are and what we do

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is an independent and impartial non‑departmental public body, which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

The 2023 Review

We have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. We are currently conducting a review on the basis of legislative rules most recently updated by Parliament in 2020. Those rules tell us that we must make recommendations for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries by 1 July 2023. While retaining the overall number of constituencies across the UK at 650, the rules apply a distribution formula that results in an increase in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 543). The rules also require that every recommended constituency across the UK – apart from five specified exceptions (two of them in England) – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062.

Initial proposals

We published our initial proposals for the new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England on 8 June 2021. Information about the proposed constituencies is now available on our website at

What is changing in the East Midlands region?

The East Midlands has been allocated 47 constituencies – an increase of one from the current number.

Our proposals leave five of the 46 existing constituencies wholly unchanged, and six unchanged except to realign constituency boundaries with new or prospective local government ward boundaries.

As it has not always been possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual counties, we have grouped some county council and unitary authority areas into sub-regions. The number of constituencies allocated to each sub-region is determined by the combined electorate of the local authorities they contain.

Consequently, it has been necessary to propose some constituencies that cross county or unitary authority boundaries, although we have sought to keep such crossings to a minimum.

Sub-regionExisting allocationProposed allocation
Lincolnshire and Rutland7**8
*The existing allocation is for Leicestershire and Rutland
**The existing allocation is Lincolnshire only


It has been necessary to propose one constituency that crosses the boundary between Lincolnshire and Rutland. We have proposed a constituency that contains electors from both Lincolnshire and Rutland, which combines the entirety of the Rutland unitary authority and wards from South Kesteven District (including the town of Stamford).

In Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire it has been possible to propose a pattern of constituencies that is within the boundaries of each county, although we have needed to divide three wards in Northamptonshire. There are relatively minor changes in Derbyshire, with five Derbyshire constituencies wholly unchanged and three changed only due to local government ward boundary changes.

How to have your say

We are consulting on our initial proposals for an eight-week period, from 8 June 2021 to 2 August 2021. We encourage everyone to use this opportunity to help us shape the new constituencies – the more responses we receive, the more informed our decisions will be when considering whether to revise our proposals. Our consultation portal at has more information about our proposals and how to give us your views on them. You can also follow us on Twitter @BCEReviews or at

Back to top

1 Comprising the unitary authority of Derby and the county council of Derbyshire, hereafter referred to as Derbyshire.
2 Comprising the unitary authority of Leicester and the county council of Leicestershire, hereafter referred to as Leicestershire.
3 Comprising the two unitary authorities of North Northamptonshire and West Northamptonshire, hereafter referred to as Northamptonshire.
4 Comprising the unitary authority of Nottingham and the county council of Nottinghamshire, hereafter referred to as Nottinghamshire.

Back to top