

### Parliamentary Boundary Review2013

East Midlands Region
Public Hearing
27 October 2011

**Submission of the Labour Party** 





## **Background**

- On behalf of Labour Party and East Midlands Regional Labour Party
- Consultation process



## new Labour

## Parliamentary Voting System and for Britain **Constituencies Act**

- Factors
  - Special Geographical Circumstances
  - Local Authority Boundaries
  - Existing Constituencies
  - Local Ties
- Wards





## Region

Allocation of 44 seats





## Sub-regional review areas

County	Share of 44 seats	Allocation	Labour Party Proposal
Lincolnshire	7.00	7	7
Derbyshire and Derby	10.15	10	37
Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland	9.88	27	
Northamptonshire	6.63		
Nottinghamshire and Nottingham	10.33		
Total	44.00	44	44





## **Objections**

- Coalville & Keyworth
- Gotham
- Nottingham, Gedling
- Disruption in Nottinghamshire
- Derby





## **Support for Initial Proposals**

- Lincolnshire
- Northamptonshire
- Leicester
- Ashfield





## **Cross-county constituencies**

- Ashby & Swadlincote
- Erewash Valley



#### new Labour for Britain

## **Nottinghamshire**

- Nottingham East
- Nottingham North intact
- Nottingham West & Beeston
- Gedling intact
- Sherwood minimum change
- Mansfield unchanged
- Newark intact
- Rushcliffe unchanged
- Bassetlaw minimum change



## **new Labour** for Britain

### **Derbyshire**

- High Peak
  - Tideswell
- Derbyshire Dales
  - Dronfield
- Chesterfield
  - Lowgates & Woodthorpe
- Bolsover & North East Derbyshire
- Alfreton & Shirebrook
- Ilkeston
- Derby West & Belper
- Derby North
  - Ockbrook & Borrowash
- Derby South
  - Aston



## **new Labour** for Britain

#### Leicestershire

- Bosworth
  - Coalville
- Hinckley & Blaby
- Loughborough
  - Kegworth & Whatton
- Charnwood
- Rutland & Melton
- Harborough





## **Summary**

- Support 18 seats
- Counter Proposals for 26 seats
- 16 seats intact, 22 seats >90% intact
- 460,034 electors move



# **new Labour** for Britain

