

# West Midlands Revised proposals summary

#### Who we are and what we do

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body, which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

#### The 2018 Review

We have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. We are currently conducting a review on the basis of new rules laid down by Parliament. These rules involve a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 501), resulting in the number of constituencies in the West Midlands reducing by six, to 53. The rules also require that every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions¹ – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

## How did we conduct the 2018 Review?

We published our initial proposals for new boundaries in September 2016 and consulted on them. We received written comments and oral submissions at public hearings held in each region. We published all the comments we received and we held a second consultation exercise in relation to them in March 2017. We are very grateful for all the comments that these two consultation exercises have generated. We have now completed the next stage of the review process and we are now publishing our revised proposals. For each region, the revised proposals report sets out our analysis of all the responses to our initial proposals in the first and second consultations, and the conclusions we have reached as to how those proposals should be revised as a result. The annex to

each report contains details of the composition of each constituency in our revised proposals for the relevant region; maps to illustrate these constituencies can be viewed on our website or in hard copy at a local place of deposit near you.

### What are the revised proposals for the West Midlands?

We have revised the composition of 36 of the 53 constituencies we proposed in September 2016. After careful consideration, we have decided not to make any revisions to the composition of the remaining 17. In one instance, however, we have revised our proposed name for a constituency.

Under our revised proposals, six constituencies in the West Midlands would be the same as they are under the existing arrangements.

As it was not always possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual counties, our initial proposals grouped some local authority areas into sub-regions. It was also necessary to propose some constituencies that cross county or unitary authority boundaries. Following consideration of the representations made on our initial proposals, our revised proposals divide the region into four sub-regions, as shown in the table below.

Sub-region	Existing allocation	Revised allocation
Coventry and Warwickshire	9	8
Solihull	2	2
Herefordshire, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, Worcestershire, and the West Midlands metropolitan county area (less Coventry and Solihull)	36	32
Staffordshire and Stoke- on-Trent	12	11

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The specified exemptions in England to the rules on constituency size are the two constituencies in the Isle of Wight.

As in our initial proposals, we have proposed six constituencies that cross county boundaries. We have proposed one constituency that contains part of Coventry and part of Warwickshire. We have proposed one constituency that contains part of Shropshire and part of Telford and Wrekin, one constituency that contains part of Herefordshire and part of Shropshire, one constituency that contains part of Herefordshire and part of Worcestershire, and one constituency that contains part of Worcestershire. We have also proposed one constituency that contains part of Staffordshire and part of Stoke-on-Trent.

By including Coventry and Warwickshire in a sub-region, we have been able to minimise change across these two areas and have proposed a Coventry South and Kenilworth constituency, thereby allowing for all of the Warwick University campus to be included in one constituency.

In Solihull, we have minimised change by only moving two wards between constituencies in the borough.

In Herefordshire, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, and Worcestershire, we have made a number of

Boundary Commission for England 35 Great Smith Street London SW1P 3BO

t: 020 7276 1102

e: information@boundarycommissionengland.gov.uk

www.bce2018.org.uk

# 2018boundaryreview

**●** @BCE2018

www.facebook.com/bcommengland/

changes, including putting Much Wenlock in a Ludlow and Leominster constituency, Bromyard in a Malvern and Ledbury constituency, and Drakes Broughton in an Evesham constituency.

In the remainder of the West Midlands metropolitan county area, we have revised our initial proposals based on local views and in order to attempt to minimise change from the existing pattern of constituencies. We have proposed that the two Bromsgrove district wards of Rubery North and Rubery South be included in a Birmingham Northfield constituency. We have suggested splitting three wards (Brierley Hill in Dudley, and Greets Green and Lyng, and St. Pauls in Sandwell) between constituencies.

In Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent, we have made changes to the constituencies in Newcastle-under-Lyme, Stafford, and Stoke-on-Trent so as to reduce the amount of change to the pattern of existing constituencies.

### How to have your say

We are consulting on our revised proposals for an eight-week period, from 17 October 2017 to 11 December 2017. We encourage everyone to use this final opportunity to contribute to the design of the new constituencies – the more public views we hear, the more informed our decisions will be when we make recommendations to the Government in September 2018.

We ask everyone wishing to contribute to the design of the new constituencies to first look at the revised proposals report, and accompanying maps, before responding to us. The best way to respond to our revised proposals is through our consultation website: www.bce2018.org.uk