

South West Revised proposals summary

Who we are and what we do

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body, which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

The 2018 Review

We have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. We are currently conducting a review on the basis of new rules laid down by Parliament. These rules involve a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 501), resulting in the number of constituencies in the South West reducing by two, to 53. The rules also require that every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions¹ – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

How did we conduct the 2018 Review?

We published our initial proposals for new boundaries in September 2016 and consulted on them. We received written comments and oral submissions at public hearings held in each region. We published all the comments we received and we held a second consultation exercise in relation to them in March 2017. We are very grateful for all the comments that these two consultation exercises have generated. We have now completed the next stage of the review process and we are now publishing our revised proposals. For each region, the revised proposals report sets out our analysis of all the responses to our initial proposals in the first and second consultations, and the conclusions we have reached as to how those proposals should be revised as a result. The annex to each report contains details of the composition of each constituency in our revised proposals

for the relevant region; maps to illustrate these constituencies can be viewed on our website or in hard copy at a local place of deposit near you.

What are the revised proposals for the South West?

We have revised the composition of 21 of the 53 constituencies we proposed in September 2016. After careful consideration, we have decided not to make any revisions to the composition of the remaining 32. In some instances, however, we have revised our proposed names for these constituencies.

Under our revised proposals, 10 constituencies in the South West would be the same as they are under the existing arrangements.

As it was not always possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual counties, our initial proposals grouped some local authority areas into sub-regions. It was also necessary to propose some constituencies that cross county or unitary authority boundaries. Following consideration of the representations made on our initial proposals, our revised proposal sub-regions remain unchanged from those initial proposals, as shown in the table below.

Sub-region	Existing allocation	Revised allocation
Bath and North East Somerset, and Somerset	7	7
Bournemouth, Dorset, Poole, and Wiltshire	13	12
Bristol	4	4
Cornwall, Devon, Isles of Scilly, Plymouth, and Torbay	18	17
Gloucestershire, and South Gloucestershire	9	9
North Somerset	2	2

¹ The specified exemptions in England to the rules on constituency size are the two constituencies in the Isle of Wight.

As in our initial proposals, we are recommending four cross-county constituencies. We have proposed one constituency that contains electors from both Cornwall and Devon; it crosses the boundary in the north of the two counties, combining the towns of Bude, Bideford and Launceston. Another proposed constituency contains electors from both Dorset and Wiltshire and combines the towns of Shaftesbury and Warminster.

Additionally, we propose that some electors from the north-east of the County of Somerset are combined with electors from Bath and North East Somerset in one constituency. We also propose that some electors from the south of the County of Gloucestershire are combined with electors from South Gloucestershire.

In the Bristol, North Somerset, and Swindon sub-regions, we are making no change to the initial proposals.

In the Bath and North East Somerset, and Somerset sub-region, the only change we are proposing is to the name of the Yeovil constituency.

In the Bournemouth, Dorset, Poole, and Wiltshire sub-region, we are making substantial change in the

Boundary Commission for England 35 Great Smith Street London SW1P 3BQ

t: 020 7276 1102

e: information@boundarycommissionengland.gov.uk

www.bce2018.org.uk

2018boundaryreview

● @BCE2018

www.facebook.com/bcommengland/

Bournemouth and Poole area to more closely reflect the existing pattern of Parliamentary constituencies. As a result of the changes in that part of the sub-region, other changes have been proposed that alter every proposed constituency in Dorset. We have also proposed a change in Wiltshire to include all of the town of Corsham in one constituency, and to the names of two constituencies.

In the Cornwall, Devon, Isles of Scilly, Plymouth, and Torbay sub-region, we have proposed changes to the East Devon and Exeter constituencies, and to the Bodmin and St. Austell, and Truro and Newquay constituencies. We have also proposed name changes for four constituencies.

In the Gloucestershire, and South Gloucestershire sub-region, we have proposed a change to the Cheltenham constituency, and as a result, we have decided to split the Coombe Hill ward between constituencies. We have also proposed changes to every constituency in Gloucestershire.

How to have your say

We are consulting on our revised proposals for an eight-week period, from 17 October 2017 to 11 December 2017. We encourage everyone to use this final opportunity to contribute to the design of the new constituencies – the more public views we hear, the more informed our decisions will be when we make recommendations to the Government in September 2018.

We ask everyone wishing to contribute to the design of the new constituencies to first look at the revised proposals report, and accompanying maps, before responding to us. The best way to respond to our revised proposals is through our consultation website: www.bce2018.org.uk