

London Initial proposals summary

Who we are and what we do

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

The 2018 Review

We have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. We are currently conducting a review on the basis of rules set by Parliament in 2011. The rules tell us that we must make recommendations for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in September 2018. They also result in a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 501), and require that every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

Initial proposals

We published our initial proposals for the new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England on 13 September 2016. Information about the proposed constituencies is now available on our website.

What is changing in London?

The London region has been allocated 68 constituencies – a reduction of five from the current number.

Our proposals leave four of the 73 existing constituencies unchanged.

As it has not always been possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual London boroughs, we have grouped them into sub-regions. The number of constituencies allocated to each sub-region is determined by the electorate of the combined boroughs.

Of the existing constituencies, we propose to retain: one in the borough of Havering, two in the borough of Richmond upon Thames, and one in the borough of Kingston upon Thames.

Sub-region	Existing allocation	Proposed allocation
North Thames (Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Brent, Camden, Ealing, Enfield, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames,* Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Westminster, and the City of London)	45	42
South Thames (Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Greenwich, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Richmond upon Thames,* Southwark, Sutton, and Wandsworth)	28	26

^{*}Richmond upon Thames is divided between these two sub-regions by the River Thames

Substantial change is required, however, through London in order to comply with the electoral quota. Consequently, it has been necessary to propose 38 constituencies that cross London borough boundaries. Of these, 36 contain part of two London boroughs, and two contain parts of three or more London boroughs.

In order to create 68 constituencies wholly within London, we have proposed one constituency (Bow and Canning Town) that crosses the River Lee. We have not proposed any constituencies that cross the River Thames.

How to have your say

We are consulting on our initial proposals for a 12-week period, from 13 September 2016 to 5 December 2016. We encourage everyone to use this opportunity to help us shape the new constituencies – the more views we hear, the more informed our decisions will be when considering whether to revise our proposals.

Our website at www.bce2018.org.uk has more information about how to respond as well as details of where and when we will be holding public hearings in your area. You can also follow us on Twitter @BCE2018 or using #2018boundaryreview.

Boundary Commission for England 35 Great Smith Street London SW1P 3BO

t: 020 7276 1102

e: information@boundarycommissionengland.gov.uk

www.bce2018.org.uk

2018boundaryreview

www.facebook.com/bcommengland/