

# South West Initial proposals summary

### Who we are and what we do

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

#### The 2018 Review

We have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. We are currently conducting a review on the basis of rules set by Parliament in 2011. The rules tell us that we must make recommendations for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in September 2018. They also result in a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 501), and require that every constituency – apart from two specified exceptions – must have an electorate that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

### Initial proposals

We published our initial proposals for the new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England on 13 September 2016. Information about the proposed constituencies is now available on our website.

## What is changing in the South West?

The South West has been allocated 53 constituencies – a reduction of two from the current number.

Our proposals leave nine of the 55 existing constituencies unchanged.

In North Somerset, both the existing constituencies are unchanged.

In Bristol, two of the four existing constituencies are unaltered, while the remaining two are changed only by the transfer of one ward.

In Swindon, we have made changes to realign constituency boundaries with the new ward boundaries.

More substantial change is required, however, in other parts of the region.

Sub-region	Existing allocation	Proposed allocation
Bath and North East Somerset, and Somerset	7	7
Bristol	4	4
Cornwall, Devon, Isles of Scilly, Plymouth and Torbay	18	17
Bournemouth, Dorset, Poole and Wiltshire	13	12
Gloucestershire and South Gloucestershire	9	9
North Somerset	2	2
Swindon	2	2

As it has not always been possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual counties, we have grouped some county and local authority areas into sub-regions. The number of constituencies allocated to each sub-region is determined by the electorate of the combined local authorities.

Consequently, it has been necessary to propose some constituencies that cross county or unitary authority boundaries.

We have proposed one constituency that contains electors from both Cornwall and Devon; it crosses the boundary in the north of the two counties, combining the towns of Bude, Bideford and Launceston. Another proposed constituency contains electors from both Dorset and Wiltshire, and combines the towns of Shaftesbury and Warminster.

Additionally, we propose that some electors from the north-east of the County of Somerset

Boundary Commission for England 35 Great Smith Street London SW1P 3BQ

t: 020 7276 1102

e: information@boundarycommissionengland.gov.uk

www.bce2018.org.uk

- # 2018boundaryreview
- @BCE2018
- f www.facebook.com/bcommengland/

are combined with electors from Bath and North East Somerset in one constituency. We also propose that some electors from the south of the County of Gloucestershire are combined with electors from South Gloucestershire.

#### How to have your say

We are consulting on our initial proposals for a 12-week period, from 13 September 2016 to 5 December 2016. We encourage everyone to use this opportunity to help us shape the new constituencies – the more views we hear, the more informed our decisions will be when considering whether to revise our proposals.

Our website, at www.bce2018.org.uk has more information about how to respond as well as details of where and when we will be holding public hearings in your area. You can also follow us on Twitter @BCE2018 or using #2018boundaryreview.

© Crown copyright 2016